Public transportation is something that I have never ever taken. Ok, that isn’t entirely true, I mean I have taken the bus before and of course have taken my fair share of cabs, but overall, I have been quite attached to my car. To say that public transportation in Seattle is horrible, is really an understatement. I tried to embrace it, I tried to commute to work by the bus, but when it took me over an hour and a half and multiple buses and waiting, I said, I don’t think so.

So far here, I have taken two different train lines – the red line and the green line, a bus, and a cab. The red line is still of course, my favorite. 🙂 Being that it is red and has stops at some great places – like Harvard Square (Harvard, the Curious George bookstore, Peet’s Coffee, the Coop) and Porter Square (great independent bookstore – Porter Square Books and a totally great hardware store – I love power tools!).

All this to say, I love taking the T here and don’t even mind taking the bus. It feels good not to have to worry about getting gas, wondering if I have enough windshield wiper fluid, or even if my tires have enough air. I know it has only been 2 days, but still – at least I have a positive enough outlook so far. It is the little victories I suppose.

Off to make good use of my Charlie card and see some new sights…

xoxo,

M

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”         Mark Twain
