As most of you know, I didn’t move to Boston with a job all lined up (totally out of character to be flying by the seat of my pants this much since again, as most of you know, I am an obsessive planner who enjoys a daily routine). Because  one of the major goals of this life change was to find a career and company that I was finally passionate about, I moved with the mindset that I was going to be openminded and willing to do anything (ok, maybe not aaaaaaaaaanything, but darn close) to get by while I was on the quest for THE job.

Well, it has been an interesting experience to say the least. While I was getting settled in, I submitted my resume to several different staffing agencies that handled temp work, temp to perm work and even direct hire work. I was able to secure a job fairly quickly with a good company that was a long-term assignment (two whole weeks!!!) and was 2 train stops away from my house – shortest commute I have ever had! Two weeks have long since gone by…it has been about a month since I have been here.

The following has happened :

I have been locked out of the building for a week because no one could turn my key card back on

There has been a discrepency of when my contract actually ends

I have lost half a days worth of work because my computer access shut down because of the above item

I have worn tennis shoes several days because I have forgotten to change into more professional shoes

I have consumed a lot of cappucinos from the free coffee machine

I have realized there are 2 other young people that work here beside myself AND they are both younger then me and were shocked to hear I am almost 28 (immature attitude I guess ;))

I have almost fallen down the stairs here twice

I have drank a beer at lunch with co-workers

I have been called from other temp agencies asking if I was interested in other assignments such as (this is the best) answering people’s questions about an iphone on the street (REALLY?! what is that?! also I don’t know have to navigate around on an iphone)

And, my desk is full of files…not much has changed from before

And the best of all, with temp work, I have realized I get to go home after work and not spend one single second thinking about work and worrying about work. If it wasn’t for the low pay and the inconsistency of work I might consider being a temp for the rest of my life! Oh, and being locked out the building thing…it’s cold here now!

xoxo,

M

What we really want to do is what we are really meant to do.  When we do what we are meant to do, money comes to us, doors open for us, we feel useful, and the work we do feels like play to us.
