October 25th. Maybe not the most significant of dates to the world, but to me, in my little world, it means a lot. Today is my one year of moving to Boston anniversary. One year of taking the biggest leap of faith I have ever taken. It’s truly hard to believe that it has been a year when it hardly seems to have been a month!

Getting through this last year of my life is not something I can kid myself into believing that I did all on my own. I found a strength within myself I am not entirely sure I realized I had and this came through wine, tears, laughs, wine, bumps in the road, wine, and more tears. This also came through the love and support of many people. Those people that have stuck by me when my goings got rough and my goings got selfish. This year was about me. Taking a step back and finding a little bit more about me and what I am capable of doing when I am out of my comfort zone. So thank you to those of you who have phone dates with me, who loved me enough to know I needed to take this space and time away, who held my hand from 3000 miles away, who didn’t forget about me when maybe I had forgotten about you for a moment and for those of you who have supported me and trust enough in me to know I needed to do this – take this chance – even when I didn’t know or always trust myself.

As I sit and write this on the eve of such a special day to me and of course have a Meghan moment about it (obviously, duh!), I feel truly blessed to have th people in my life that I do. Supporting and loving me. Being cheerleaders as I walk through this life or maybe as I attempt to walk through this life as best as I can. It’s not always easy, but it sure makes the road a little less bumpy knowing that you have peple in your life who go get Anna’s with you, who laugh about owls with you or watch trashy television with you, those to ‘force’ you for drinks after work or on the weekends, those who make you want to be a better person because they are so wonderful themselves, and those who can deal with me and my cheesy life moments.

Don’t mind me today when I raise a glass in my honor for making this leap of faith. Don’t mind me today when I absolutely have a moment today about how far I feel I have come since I have moved 1 year ago today. And especially don’t mind me when I have a special glass of wine for you. Yep, that’s right – you. That special person who loved me no matter what. That amazing person who believed in me during my darkest moments. You know who you are, even if you don’t realize, I certainly do and there just aren’t words to convey my appreciation.

And to Boston. For welcoming me with open arms, coffee snob attitude and all. For showing me all it takes is a little faith, a sprinkle of hope, several stiff drinks and a little magic. I still have a lot of learning, living, lobstah eating, Sam Adams and Dunks drinking, loving, and local sports heartbreak to be experiencing!

xoxo,

M

To accomplish great things, we must not only act, but also dream; not only plan, but also believe. ~ Anatole France
