Tags

,

Control (n) : The power to influence or direct people’s behavior or the course of events.

Control (v) : Determine the behavior or supervise the running of.

Lately I have been talking with various people about control. What control exactly means, the things that you actually have control over, what things you wished you had control over, etc. A lot of people in my life have recently experienced a variety of situations where they have felt they didn’t have control of a situation or have been feeling at a bit of a loss to make much of a difference in a situation. I, myself have felt this at different times in my life and that includes recent situations as well.

I think that it is extremely frustrating to think that someone or something else has more control over a situation then you do. I understand that you can’t control someone else and everyone has their own ways of working through a situation, but sometimes you just want to punch the person in the face and say, YO! wake up! I have needs and things that need to be addressed (especially the YO! part…). It’s hard to remember that you can only do so much and that it is impossible to try and control anyone else, but it is so important to remember that as much as you can’t control someone else, they can’t control you either!

Staying true to yourself and what you need is the most important thing. One that sometimes gets lost in the mix of working with another person or in a situation. Doing what you feel like you need to do in order to be true to yourself can be hard I think. I constantly feel like I am second guessing what I need in order to work through something. Somedays it is one thing and then somedays it is completely the opposite. A wise person once told me that if I am thinking about one particular thing for longer then a day, then perhaps it is worth pursuing. I try to think about things in those terms, sleeping on it can help – things often are most clear in the light of day. For me anyway.

xoxo,

M

