Tags

,

So I have this friend. A friend that I have known for probably close to a million years. We have been through a lot together – good and bad, sober and perhaps not so sober, The Divorce and Ludacris, Red 40s and Red 41s, laughter and tears, Gossip Girl and Sons of Anarchy and a million other things. I don’t often talk about individual relationships here, but that doesn’t mean I don’t cherish each and every single one that I have. This particular person deserves a mention today because I had one of the most spontaneous moments in my recent past with him on Friday and I think I may have needed it…

What started out as a plan for burgers and a couple of drinks on Friday night turned into a 2+ hour trip to Connecticut and a serious thought (well at least for him) to drive to Atlantic City. Wait, seriously?! Oh yes, seriously. What started out as an intention to have a fairly low-key and early evening turned into a pounding caffeinated beverages and going to bed at 4 am. All because he decided that he needed to take a bit of a drive, do something a bit on the random and wild side, something totally unplanned, and see some new states. Hey, why not! You only live once and you might as well make the most of it when you get the chance, right?

Those of you that know me, know that I have the tendency to be very type A as far as planning is concerned. I like to know what is going on and have a really hard time with people that are not capable of making plans. Since I have moved, I have really tried to let go of some of that practice, but old habits die hard so mostly I make plans. But, there are those rare moments when spontaneity takes over and I just want to ride the train all the way to Braintree for no reason at all, just to say that I did it or I get into the car with someone and drive to Connecticut at 8 pm on Friday night. I don’t thank those in my life who enable me to be like that every once in awhile and encourage that in me nearly enough.

So, thank you J for helping me be a bit spontaneous on Friday night and just go with the flow and rediscover that I still have some serious rap skillz. Because, really, aren’t those the moments that we remember the most?

xoxo,

M

There are times when thinking about something is the worst possible policy.

 

