Tags

, ,

There are so many forms of good-bye and each of those forms have different meanings and stand for different things. At least for me.

I have said some good-byes in my life. Some permanent, some more like see ya laters, some heartbreaking, some weight lifting, and some certainly harder than others. There have been countless tears, hugs, smiles, pats on the back, and reassurances to keep in touch. Admittedly, I am not that great at saying good-bye to be honest. Not like most people are, but I just tend to not have the greatest finesse with them – usually I am crying or on the verge, I can never say the things that I need to convey because how can you tell someone everything that is in your heart in just one moment, in just a few words? Often times, when I am saying good-bye, the immensity of how I feel about that person is just too much to put into one moment or just a few words so I come across like a bumbling fool!

I feel like I have been saying good-bye a lot recently. I had a friend just recently graduate from Harvard Law and move back to Washington. And this person was my first friend in Massachusetts. She was a friend of a friend and we instantly bonded over Northwest beers and our love of football and all things Washington (well…to be honest, we do have a bit of a Cougar Husky rivalry going on ;)). She is incredibly strong, generous, open-minded and open-hearted, oh so much fun, and someone that I will always cherish having a conversation with – about whatever, life, boys, friends, the world, dreams, hopes – just whatever. I value her as a person and respect her thoughts, opinions and advice. It was hard to say good-bye and know that she won’t be around in Cambridge anymore. She is on to the next chapter of her life and of course, I am thrilled and couldn’t be happier for her, but the tiniest part of me, wishes my first Boston friend was still going to be around. BUT, we have a date for the Waterwheel Lounge the next time I come rolling into town and you better believe I am holding her to that!

My next good-bye is coming tomorrow. This one is going to be tough because I have had the opportunity to have some last minute major moments with this person over the last couple of weeks because she has been staying with us at Frostacres. Not to say that saying good-bye would have been any easier had she not been staying, but there is something about having hilarious moments, deep conversations, stalking moments, wine, bubbles at 5:15 am, and watching Saved by the Bell or Southern Nights over doing dishes and making coffee for the next day. She is truly amazing, one of the best people I have ever had the privilege of knowing. There isn’t much to say beyond that. I spent my first Thanksgiving away from family with my new little stand in family – she and her husband so graciously included me in their plans when I had never even met them! As time has gone by, I have had the wonderful opportunity to get to know her further and bond over our shared love of reading, education and trying to make awkward situations less awkward. Her infectious smile and positivity will be missed so much and so will her huge heart and the way that she has of making everything seem so much better with just a few words. It’s hard to believe that she won’t be here for Sunday brunches or Hatch Shell concerts. I can’t wait for the next chapter to begin, but again, the tiniest part of me wants to be selfish and keep her and her husband here!

These good-byes I hope are more like see ya laters. You know, the type of see ya laters where I will see them both on the West Coast and they will be coming back for Sangria parties and Northwest Beer Fests. Thank goodness for texting, skyping, gchatting, the good old phone, even USPS because these girls can’t get rid of me that easy! Thank you to you both for touching my life. You will never truly know how much I cherish the time we have been able to spend. Thank you for bring some sanity to my crazy life and thank you for being grounding forces even when you maybe didn’t even realize you were!

xoxo and all my love,

M

