Tags

, , , ,

Fortune cookies are often so profound. Or, maybe I just seem to get just the right fortune at just the right moment.

Recently, my fortune said :

The most important relationship in your life is the one with yourself.

I do believe this. Truly. Obviously, this is not to discount other relationships in my life, but I do believe that if I am not happy with me, not loving me, not understanding me, not taking care of me, then how can I possibly expect others to? At the end of the day, I have to live with me forever and forever can be quite long if I haven’t taken the time to get to know myself and be comfortable with my own thoughts. Of course, I do feel like most people in my life love me unconditionally through the good and bad, which I feel so thankful for, and it is that love and support, that helps me to believe in myself and strive to better understand myself. This way, I am able to offer my best self to the people in my life and to myself.

We are all doing our best in this life. Trying our hardest to forge a path that we are ultimately comfortable and happy with. The people that we meet and the experiences we have along the way, help us to arrive even closer to the person that we are meant to be and I believe that it is those same people and experiences that help us to get to know ourselves even more.

I am not always happy with myself, but I love myself and know that I am doing my best to be the best kind of me possible. And maybe, that is all I can ask for in myself.

xoxo,

M

But the most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you can find someone to love the you you love, well, that’s just fabulous. ~ Carrie bradshaw
