Tags

, , , ,

Ugh. This is the story of my life right now. I just feel like there are so many things that have happened that I have yet to address in this space and I need to address them for my own sanity! And frankly, for my own reading pleasure later in life.

I am going to tackle this small little thing.

In a couple of weeks, I will be back in school! I am just so excited. Truly cannot wait to be a student again. Those of you that know me, know that I adore education. So much so that I feel like my calling in life is in education. Now, that role has changed and evolved over the last several years, but I remember so clearly this moment senior year of college, halfway through second semester, where I freaked out and realized I wasn’t doing the right thing and that I should have gone into education – teaching more specifically. At this point, I was burnt out from school and all I could think about was upcoming graduation where I would be getting my BA in Communication – Advertising, I didn’t even give myself the opportunity to think about staying longer and just making a complete shift because I knew that I needed to just be done for awhile with school.

I absolutely do not regret this decision. This decision, among others, has led me to this moment in life so what is there to regret? While it has certainly been a long road to make a complete career shift, it has been worth it every step of the way. I can’t imagine if I would have done things differently. I wouldn’t have made and met some great connections in the banking world, I wouldn’t have gotten involved with the Business and Finance program in the local high schools, I wouldn’t have been reacquainted with my old business teacher who told me about Career and Tech Education pathways in Washington, I wouldn’t have gotten my first job when I moved to Boston, hell, I probably wouldn’t even be in Boston, and I wouldn’t find myself at Northeastern University. And a million other small steps in this wonderful thing we call life wouldn’t have happened to bring me to this point.

In two weeks, I begin my Masters of Education in Learning and Instruction Concentration. I can’t wait to see where this takes me. I love the idea of teaching, but I know myself and in 5 or so years, I would be looking to the next things in Education so I am planning ahead. Development here I come, but who knows, I might moonlight as a teacher for awhile too!

I think the hardest thing that I have had to work through the last several years, is trusting myself and believing in myself that I was on the right path for my life. Believing that one day, of course, never soon enough, I would make it here. Having faith in the process, no matter hard and arduous it really was. And believe me, it was. And trusting those in my life that have stuck by me and supported me through this journey because they too, believed that this was the right life path for me.

And to sum this all up, the final paragraph in my personal statement :

There have been countless moments that have led me to this place of feeling that my ultimate goal is to have an impact on various curriculum and instruction elements. Ultimately, I want my voice to be heard and I want to help improve the education system from the fundamental level of what students are learning during their time in the classroom. My goal in life is to make a difference and make an impact, and I truly believe that this program will push me in the right direction of influencing the education system. I want the chance to impact a student’s life and to offer them a positive experience, like the one that I was offered. 

xoxo and go education!

M

