Tags

, , , , , ,

Well, not that there is a ton to recap from this weekend to be perfectly honest, but I just feel like I need to say this for myself – I made it through my first week and weekend of grad school. Holy.Crap. This is going to be a bit tough. I can for sure do this, but it is going to be a lot of studying, a lot of life balancing, a lot of caffeine, and even more wine. As I said before, I need to be easy on myself, because I haven’t been in school seriously for a long time. There are going to be growing pains and struggles and tears and little sleep, but it is going to be so unbelievably worth it to me in the long run. This little quote today says it all really. Thank goodness Real Simple knows me so well and knows when I need a little extra boost.

Life Passions

For my one social moment of the weekend, I had some wine with a friend of mine who called out of the blue. We went to the Thirsty Scholar (you might know it from the Social Network movie) and it was so nice to just take a moment, breathe, and talk about life with someone my own age. Someone that has lived some life. Someone who has similar beliefs about things. I have come to appreciate those in my life that I am able to have a serious conversation with about different life topics. I have been feeling like they are a bit few and far between lately, so when I am able to sit down with someone over a drink, in a new bar, for like 3 and a half hours and just really talk, I just really appreciate, love and feel thankful for it. This is not to say that other conversations that I have are surface conversations exactly, but sometimes you just need a good serious heart to heart conversation with someone. Or maybe that is just me. 🙂 I think that it takes a lot for me to really open up to someone and feel like I am able to be myself and just say whatever is on my mind and have what I say respected and heard. It’s just interesting I think who actually is able to bring that to my life. I mean, I found myself responding to the question of whether or not I wanted kids, in perhaps the realest way I have EVER responded to that question. And it was refreshing to me, because this person brought out an answer that I am not sure I even knew existed until it just came pouring out. Anyway, that is kind of random all around, but it is just one example of what stuck out in that conversation for me this weekend.

In my old age (welp! ;)) I think I have begun to take stock of my life and the things that are truly important to me. The people that are truly important to me. I have said it so many times, but I love to beat a dead horse, but to me, it is the little things. I don’t always take a moment to stop and smell the roses, but I do feel like I am able to recognize the things that touch my life in some way. A home cooked meal by my roommate, a great conversation with someone you least expect, new friends that add so much to my life in ways that is embarrassing to even convey to them, old friends and phone dates to look forward to (nothing better than a fabulous old friend who gets you better than you get yourself), a good study session these days, a great song or quote that speaks to me.

Ok, wow, this certainly turned out to be way more reflective and just over the top than I originally set out for it to be. So much for a random weekend update. On that note, have a great week, I am going to do my best to!

xoxo,

M

