Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hiya!

I have seen so many posts in various forms regarding the arrival of Fall, so many so, that I have been inspired to pen my own love letter to Fall. So here goes.

My Dearest Fall,

First off, should I call you Fall, should I call you Autumn? I am just never too sure. Folks around here typically refer to you as Autumn, so perhaps I should follow suit. From here on out, at least for the purposes of this letter, I shall call you Autumn.

Autumn, how I love you so. I love the fact that you bring me football season. The fact that I could sit and watch countless of hours on the weekends of my favorite sport to watch is truly wonderful, specifically on Saturdays. Cougar Football Saturdays will always be some of my fondest memories and some of my most favorite times. In my opinion, there is just nothing quite like Pullman in the fall, on a Saturday, in Martin Stadium. It’s electrifying. It is special and being a Coug in the fall is one of THE best times to be a Coug. Regardless of how the team is doing. Seriously.

That chill in the air? That sunshine and breeze combo? Yeah, I love that. The air feels differently and even smells differently, Autumn and it is absolutely wonderful. I love the feeling of waking up in the morning with just a little bite in the air, but the sun still streaming in through the window.

Hot beverages. Autumn, your arrival means that I slowly start wanting a hot beverage to hold in the morning. I suppose I have to say this : the return of Pumpkin Spice Lattes. Now, frankly, I am not a fan of them myself, but I know the rest of the world is, so PSL, your arrival is a happy time for many and you really don’t show up until Autumn is upon us, so I will be excited for your return too. I love the fact that the chill in the air means that it is time for jackets, sweaters, scarves, and my beloved knee high socks. For those of you that know me, you will know that these socks are THE best socks ever and actually the only ones I will wear when the weather turns. I mean, come on, look at all the choices and the fun patterns! I have a ridiculous amount and not enough all at the same time.

I love, Autumn, that you bring first days of school. There is something so magical about them. A new start. New pens and pencils. New school supplies in general. Pulling out the old backpack and getting ready to load it up with books. And this year, for the first time in a long time, I had a first day of school! I reveled in the preparation of it. Received a back to school care package from the mom and LOVED it! So fun.

I can’t wait for pumpkins, squash, soup, baked apples, hot apple cider, pumpkin bread, pumpkin cupcakes, pumpkin cake, pumpkin, pumpkin, pumpkin. Cozying up on the couch all wrapped up in a blanket watching a movie, trashy tv show, or reading a book sounds like an amazing Sunday. Chimney smoke and the smell of wood burning makes me yearn for a fireplace.

The leaves. Autumn, oh Autumn I love the changing of the leaves. The reds, yellows, and oranges. I can’t get enough of them. It is my favorite moment of all, Autumn, in all honesty, seeing the leaves start to change. There is something so beautiful and magic about it. There is a romance to you Autumn that I can’t explain that is so unlike other seasons. Strolling in the chilly night with someone you have a crush on, sounds amazing and something to consider coming out of the dating hiatus for indeed. Even strolling by myself, sounds fabulous, who needs a hot guy to do that all the time?

I am glad you are here. I welcome you back into my life with open arms and an even bigger place in my heart for you than ever before. You see, Autumn, this Autumn in 2012, you will mark my second anniversary in Boston (kind of crazy to think that I have been in New England for 2 years!). You also mark the first day of school in the journey in the pursuit of my dream. You also mark the last few months of my 20’s and I plan to make the most of them. To be open to new experiences, to welcome them into my life. To welcome new people into my life. And most of all, welcome myself back into my life. Forgiving myself and healing myself – feels like two things that I can do with your healing and magical powers Autumn. Thank you. For being exactly you.

Adoringly yours,

M

P.S. I love the fact I can rock Lincoln Park After Dark on my fingernails finally! Thanks Autumn for your appreciation of dark colors. 🙂

