Tags

, , , , , ,

I had a bit of a hard time writing this post for some reason. Maybe it is the pressure that I have put on myself to mark this date, but I have started, stopped, and erased this post at least 4 times.

Over the last two years…

I have looked back to 2010 and then again to 2011.

I have reflected.

I have cried.

I have felt my heart being full of pride for myself.

I have smiled at the memories from the last 725 days.

I have laughed.

I have missed.

I have yearned for good Washington coffee, wine and beer more times than I care to admit.

I have stepped out of my comfort zone.

Most of all, I have lived.

There are so many moments that I have had with myself, my friends, my family, the bartender down the street, total randoms and countless baristas along the way. It is these moments that have helped define who I am today. It is these moments that have kept me thriving and surviving the last two years. I have had rough moments, some of THE worst times of my life, but I have many more amazing moments that I am working hard to choose to focus on instead. I find it appropriate that Kelly Clarkson’s Stronger is playing on my Pandora right now. And that it was preceded by The Supreme’s Can’t Hurry Love.

I have found new parts of myself in Boston that I think came up out of necessity of becoming comfortable in my own skin again. Loving myself unconditionally, no matter what. It is a day to day process, but I am happy to say, I am getting there. Slowly but surely, I am getting there. I have learned so much about myself, my relationships and what I want from each of them and I have learned about people in general. I have seen the good, amazing, bad and the ugly from a lot of different people.

Regardless of how long I am in the beautiful Bay State, it will always, always hold such a special place in my heart. Through the heartbreak and the ugly, through the smiles, laughter and the tears, through new friends and rekindling old friendships, through countless drinks and Roxanne’s on the jukebox, through crappy train commutes, but still being slightly in awe of public transportation, through my greatest hopes and dreams being realized and through some of my greatest fears coming true, my love for Boston and Cambridge has remained unwavering these last two years. It is that love that has helped me in my darkest moments, just knowing that regardless of how bad it was, I was EXACTLY where I was meant to be at this moment in my life. And that, that love, has been everything. Truly.

Thank you to all my readers, old and new, for continuing to read about my little journey, that took me from one coast to the next. After my hood was stolen.

I have a long way to go, but getting there doesn’t seem quite as scary as it once was. These two years have been some of the best of my life and I am by no means ready for this crazy adventure to be over yet. There are many unconquered, by me anyway, parts of New England I need to see. Amazing people I need to meet. And so many more experiences that I need to experience. And let’s be honest, if I meet some amazing gentleman that asks me to move into his Cape house and become the town wino eccentric, I might be lost to New England forever. 😉

Wouldn’t have been able to make it this far without the love and support of all my favorites out there and you damn well know who you are!

xoxo and cheers to 2 years,

M

“Just when you think it can’t get any worse, it can. And just when you think it can’t get any better, it can.” – Nicholas Sparks

