Tags

, , , , ,

We all know that 2012 was a year full of fun for me, but also, one of the hardest that I have ever experienced. While I spent many a day lamenting over the hardships, I also spent many reflecting and loving as best as I could. There is so much that I am thankful for. So many people. So much so, that I tried so hard the last 6 months of the year to really focus on that. Whether I addressed that on this blog or even in real life to anyone, I chose to make it a priority in my life. And it is that, and that alone that carried me through. Knowing that the light, no matter how dim, was in fact, at the end of that tunnel, is what kept me moving forward. And that light has so many different names and forms. Too many to list here, but each of them will forever hold a special place in my heart.

I have done a lot this year and a lot of firsts can be included in the list too. And because I love me some lists here are a few highlights…

Took up painting

Experienced the fun that is New Orleans

Connecticut, Rhode Island – check and check

Got a new job

Started school again

Met some amazing new people

Began to heal my heart (she is still broken a little bit, but man, that tape seems to be sturdier than I thought – must be the kick ass houndstooth print duct tape I used!)

Found my Gasworks equivalent in Boston

TRULY experienced a Boston summer (holy crazy!)

Put a hoop in nose (sorry Mom and Dad! ;))

Re-learned how comfortable I am with myself and being myself

Discovered that crafting = my solace

Read, read, read

Showed my parents my new home, proudly and with love in my heart

Rocked out to amazing songs like Call Me, Maybe and Gangnam Style (hideous I know!)

Met and spent time with 3 amazing little girls and their parents

Got a MA ID and experienced the fun that is the RMV where you literally need to promise your first born, give a sample of DNA and your left arm for an ID

Laughed, loved, hated, moved on, felt, experienced, learned, and most of all – lived, not fabulously all of the time, not proudly either sometimes, but I lived

Discovered that I have more strength than I initially thought

Now, I am not really one to make resolutions per say, rather I like to think of them more like intentions and hopes for the new year. This year is certainly no exception for me. There are some things that I would like to accomplish this year, some fun, some tough, some very important. The last 5 years the Bobsey twin and I have chosen a theme for the year to focus on, each building on the last and all of them have been very appropriate to what we had on the horizon for the year. Well this year, we have opted to not have a theme, but have a word of the year. I can’t take credit for this idea, but once it was mentioned, I was inspired and immediately followed suit and came up with my own word of the year. Which, I suppose is like having a theme at the end of the day. This word is something to focus on, believe in and perhaps shape things around, especially during tougher times. My word : trust.

Trust in myself again. Trust in others. Trusting that everything will be ok in the end.

Seems so simple, but I think that for a lot of people, myself included, this might be a tall order. But, having this word of the year to focus on will push me to rise to the challenge and embrace it wholeheartedly. I am excited to see how I grow and evolve this year. I am excited to see how I improve my life – for the better, this year. This is a new and fresh beginning for me and I can’t wait to meet 2013 head on.

Bring it 2013!

xoxo,

M

“And now we welcome the new year, full of things that have never been.” – Rainer Maria Rilke
