Tags

, , ,

By now, you all probably know what happened in my adopted city of Boston. There aren’t words to convey how much my heart is hurting right now. There aren’t words to convey the anxiety and stress that I felt when I was trying to contact my roommate (who works like two blocks from the scene of the blast) or my friend who had literally just finished running about 30 minutes before the first explosion happened to make sure they were ok. There aren’t words to convey how lucky I feel to have serious crowd anxiety and I didn’t try to get closer to the finish line yesterday when I was on Boylston Street, 15 minutes prior to the first explosion. There aren’t words to convey the panic I felt watching people run away from the scene, but not knowing exactly what had happened. There aren’t words to convey how I felt when I had to call my mom begging her to turn on the news and tell us what was going on because we didn’t fully know what was happening.

This list could go on and on. With more negative feelings and even more questions. Instead, I want to focus on all of the love and kindness shown yesterday. With every bad story and bad feeling, there are several more that show the goodness, love and kindness in this world. So, so many people reached out to me yesterday to make sure I was ok and safe and you will never truly know how much I appreciate that and just how loved I felt.

This article really hits home to me just how wonderful people can be. In the midst of  tragedy and terror, there are so many people that were selfless and it is these acts of kindness that help to restore faith in humankind. People coming together to forge a bond that says, this is unacceptable and we will not let you win. We will find out who did this and there will be justice for these horrible acts, but in the meantime, we will all come together in this moment and prove our strength.

In the words of President Obama – “Boston is a tough and resilient town, so are its people. I’m supremely confident that Bostonians will pull together, take care of each other, and move forward as one proud city and as they do, the American people will be with them every single step of the way.”

I must have said I was fine to various people over a hundred times yesterday. But, am I really fine? Am I really ok? Maybe not just yet, but I will be. When my heart heals a little more, I will be.

