Tags

, , , ,

It is hard to believe that it has not only been a million years since I last posted on this space of mine, but that it is January 7th. 2014! What?! It truly does feel like just yesterday that I was writing about the happenings of 2012 and my word of the year for 2013. Time really does fly when you are living life I suppose!

2013 brought a lot of wonderful things for me. And one of the biggest and best moments, while extremely personal, was alluded to here. I can’t even begin to share how much of a pivotal moment that was for me this past year. Part of me even wants to say it was THE moment of the year because I finally felt a sense of relief and weight lifting. My word trust proved to be the best choice to walk through the year with in my back pocket. Trust and its meaning to me, wasn’t something that I consciously had to revisit every single day. I did however, have the comfort of knowing that through the challenges and especially in the great moments, it was the underlying force that helped me to navigate through this last year. There is room for improvement, but I am pleased to report that overall, trust helped me to believe in myself a bit more again and trust in the process of life and take comfort in the fact that everything will be ok in the end. As one of my favorite quotes states, everything will be ok in the end, if it’s not ok, it’s not the end.

Let’s just take a brief look at 2013, in of course, list form :

I finally found the words, they might not have been pretty or delivered eloquently, but delivered nonetheless

I got a new job, one that I wasn’t even necessarily looking for, but one that is proving to be a good opportunity (once I finally transition out of my old job fully, which let’s be honest, maybe I am deluding myself into thinking that will actually happen)

I made a dent in furthering my education and all of the fun that came with that

I met some new people and one person in particular

I went fake camping and saw some of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever, ever seen, I also had the opportunity to discover the absolute beauty that is the beach next to a gorgeous lake in the morning with a cup of coffee listening to the water

I semi took up running on a more consistent basis and ran my first 5k in a really long time, with a theme, in a tutu of course

I had some great visitors come to see me in the form of my Bobsey twin and my middle sister and her boyfriend

I went to some Red Sox games, which included two games sitting in kick ass seats on the first base line and a Red Sox/Yankees game

I got to enjoy the Red Sox winning the World Series, parade and all

I had the first anniversary of my 30th birthday

I lived, I loved, I hoped, I wished, I cried, I laughed, I smiled, I pretended to wink, I flirted, I sang, I danced, I drank, I LIVED

2014. We have definitely started you and I am pleased to report, that not only am I continuing to work on embracing the word trust, but my overarching goal for 2014 focuses on positivity. Finding that within myself again. The last several months have been extremely challenging work wise and that has 150% spilled into my personal life. It has jaded me a bit and changed me. I had the same feelings of feeling like I was losing myself that I did a couple of years ago and that scared me so much. I never, NEVER want to go fully back to that place again and it is for that reason, that I need to refocus my efforts on being positive again. Having the best attitude that I can even when it seems like things cannot get any worse. Believing that the good is just right around the corner and there is a reason for it all. TRUSTING that I will make it out on the other side, singing, dancing, smiling, and laughing.

There are always going to be bad days and moments, but it is my hope that even throughout those times I will always be able to pause for a second and remember the good. Think of the little things that bring me joy and happiness everyday no matter what. The small, the big. There are so many different things that can come from positivity and I can’t wait to continue to discover what these things might be for me. Life is short and as much as I can, I want to have a light heart and a smile on my face.

So, bring it 2014, so ready to kick your ass and continue to live some serious life!

xoxo,

M

